|
|
|
| Your Password to Our Databases
Some of our databases require you to enter a password for access
Your password is your Bayville library card user id
preceded by the letter/number code: bvl628
Example: bvl628999 where 999 is your library user id
|
|
| Databases Arranged Alphabetically
|
Access Science
McGraw-Hill's AccessScience 2.0 features fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition.
|
Annals of American History
American History through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs,
poems, images and multimedia. This online chronicle provides the
reader with a year-by-year documentary of American thought and
action. 2,100 entries from 1493 to the present.
|
Business and Company ASAP
Providing researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
|
Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
|
Career Cruising 
First time users please register in library,
Career Cruising is for people entering the job market or
exploring career options. This site helps you plan
for future education and training in diverse fields. | |
|
|
Community Resource Database of Long Island
Profiles of more than 11,000 community services and resources available in the Long Island area.
|
Credo Reference
Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative
answers fast. It features content from hundreds of
reference books in a broad range of subjects.
|
Ebsco Animals (text only)
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
|
ELibrary access from Bayville Free Library
access from Home
Students can find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video files.
|
Encylopedia Britannica Online Reference Center
This library edition deliveries two sites in one. The
Reference Center home page is an entryway for older students and
adults. While the link for the kids home page is the entryway
for children and young adults.
|
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
|
General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
|
General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
|
Global Reference Center
An extensive collection of Encyclopædia Britannica's foreign
language content, offering trustworthy information in Spanish,
Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French.
Enciclopedia Juvenil
Enciclopedia Universal en Español
|
Greenwood Daily Life
Historical views of the everyday lives of the
world's people. Especially
recommended for high school and college literature and history courses.
Greenwood Daily Life Premium
access from Bayville Free Library
(including World Cultures)
access
from Home
Greenwood Daily Life in America
access from Bayville Free Library
access from Home
The African American Experience access from Bayville Free Library
access from
Home
The Latino American Experience
access from Bayville Free Library
access from Home
Pop Culture Universe
access from Bayville Free Library
access from Home
|
Grolier Online
access available from Bayville Free Library only
Includes these encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia America, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia,
America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.
|
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
- 1980 - Aug 2006
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
|
Heritage Quest Online
access from Bayville Free Library
access from HomeSearch a variety of genealogy resources including census
records and books. |
¡Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos.
Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras
materias.
|
InfoTrac Newsstand
Search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers,translate articles into 11 different languages, create email alerts,
and customize your search options and results format.
|
InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
|
Investext Plus
Search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in full page PDF image.
|
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
|
Kid's Search
Kids Search combines a state-of-the-art search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Kids Search makes it easier for students to look for their subjects of interest by automatically searching across all applicable databases simultaneously.
|
LearningExpress
LearningExpress offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information.
To create an account, register with LearningExpress online at the Bayville Free Library.
After registering in the library sign in with user name and password.
|
|
National Newspaper Index
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
|
New York State Newspapers
Search this database of seven newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
|
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
|
Oxford Art Online
access from Bayville Free Library
only
|
Oxford Music Online
access from Bayville Free Library
only
|
Primary Search
Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
|
Proquest Databases
| |
|
| |
Access to the Following:
| |
ABI/Inform (American Business Index) |
|
Black Newspapers |
|
Education Periodicals |
| |
Hoover's Company Records |
|
National Newspapers Premier |
|
ProQuest Computing |
|
Proquest Health Management |
|
ProQuesst Newspapers |
|
Financial Times |
|
Research Library |
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
(1851 - 2005) |
|
|
|
|
PROMT - Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology
- 2003 - Aug 2006
Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports.
|
Twayne Author Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors.
|
Webster's Dictionary
Merriam-Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged.
|
World Data Analyst
Offers a variety of statistics by country and region. This
database of statistics makes historical and cross-national
comparisons easy. Plus, World Data Analyst allows
subscribers to create tables, charts. Users can export the
information to a spreadsheet for data crunching and deeper
analysis. Users can also link to country articles from the
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It’s a great source for
research, to explore new topics for study, or just to learn more
about the world.
|
| |
|