Databases

Home/Databases
Databases 2017-06-15T12:22:49+00:00

Databases

Bayville Free Library offers access to a large number of databases and resources that can be used freely or using your library account details. You can search these resources using the table below:

Name Description Category Website Address
Ancestry Start searching billions of records and discover your family’s story. Learning Click Here
Annals of American History American History through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images and multimedia. This online chronicle provides the reader with a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. 2,100 entries from 1493 to the present. Learning Click Here
Britannica Library Britannica Library gives your library three sites in one: Children, Young Adults, and the Reference Center for older students and adults. Patrons can choose the age-appropriate level that works best for them and will find it easy to conduct research, complete homework assignments, and work on special projects. They can even store their research in their own personal My Britannica account. Remote access is included, and Britannica Library works splendidly on any device—PC, laptop, tablet, or smartphone. Learning Click Here
Community Resource Database of Long Island Profiles of more than 11,000 community services and resources available in the Long Island are. Long Island Click Here
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). Reference Click Here
Global Reference Center An extensive collection of Encyclopædia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering trustworthy information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Enciclopedia Juvenil Enciclopedia Universal en Español Language, Reference Click Here
Grolier Online This is toted as the most comprehensive source of non-fiction content for grades 3 and up. Over 120,000 articles – all articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards. Over 340,000 editor vetted web links. Over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries Learning, Reference Click Here
TumbleBookLibrary An online collection of ebooks, enhanced novels, graphic novels, videos and audio books, which offers students and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content e-books, Learning, Reference Click Here
InfoTrac News Stand This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others. Newspapers Click Here
InfoTrac OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Reference Click Here
Novelist Learning Click Here
Health & Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. Health #
Heritage Quest Online Search a variety of genealogy resources including census records and books. Reference Click Here
History Reference Center Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers and full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Reference Click Here
Nassau Digital Doorway Download 100’s of free e-books! e-books, media Click Here
World Data Analyst Offers a variety of statistics by country and region. This database of statistics makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy. Plus, World Data Analyst allows subscribers to create tables, charts. Users can export the information to a spreadsheet for data crunching and deeper analysis. Users can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It’s a great source for research, to explore new topics for study, or just to learn more about the world. Reference Click Here
Webster’s Dictionary Merriam-Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged. Reference Click Here
Proquest Databases Search 17 databases covering a wide variety of topics Reference Click Here
Oxford Music Online Access from Bayville Free Library (Grove Music Online) Media, Reference Click Here
Oxford Art Online Access from Bayville Free Library Only (Grove Art Online) Media, Reference Click Here
¡Informe! Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Language Click Here
New York State Newspapers Search this database of seven newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post. Literacy, Newspapers Click Here
National Newspaper Index National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America’s top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Newspapers Click Here
Twayne’s Authors Online Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors. Learning, Literacy Click Here
Mango Mango teaches practical conversation skills for a wide variety of languages, and is available anywhere you get online. It’s the fast, easy and effective way to learn to speak a foreign language! Language Click Here
Kid’s Search Kids Search combines a state-of-the-art search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Kids Search makes it easier for students to look for their subjects of interest by automatically searching across all applicable databases simultaneously. Kids Click Here
eLibrary Elementary eLibrary is the perfect resource for delivering full-text and multimedia reference essentials. The easy-to-use interface makes research easy, whether you are a middle or high school student, a public library patron unfamiliar with databases or an adult taking coursework online. Researchers find the answers they need from more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus over 7 million maps, photographs, infographics, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and top-quality multimedia (audio/video) clips. Learning Click Here
NoveList K-8 Plus NoveList K-8 Plus is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers. Learning Click Here
Kids InfoBits Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Kids, Learning Click Here
Learning Express LearningExpress offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information. To create an account, register with LearningExpress online at the Bayville Free Library. After registering in the library sign in with username and password Careers Click Here
Business Insights: Essentials Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool that delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, students, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills Careers Click Here
Academic OneFile The premier resource for peer-reviewed, full-text journals and reference sources, Academic OneFile is a 2009 and 2008 CODiE Award Finalist for Best Online General Reference Service. Perfect for research libraries, graduate schools, universities and community colleges, Academic OneFile is a sophisticated, current and easy-to-use resource for extensive research. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full text, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Research Click Here
Gannett Newsstand Complete Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira). Media, Research Click Here
General OneFile General OneFile provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researchers at all levels. Content includes more than 12,000 titles in all with nearly 30 years of coverage. Learning, Research Click Here
Health Reference Center Academic Full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a variety of personal health information sources. Health, Research Click Here
Health Reference Center Academic Full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a variety of personal health information sources. Health, Research Click Here
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Research Click Here
Pronunciator Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages. Language Click Here
Scholastic GO! Includes access to Amazing Animals of the World, America the Beautiful, Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples,The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre as well as Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition. Kids, Learning Click Here
Seasame Street eBooks This is an ebook subscription app, including more than 160 ebooks, which will help teach your child many skills that help preschoolers get ready for school. Kids, Learning Click Here

If you know of any other resources that could be added to the list, let us know.